An Artist’s Reflection: World Art Day

Did you know? On this Soulful Sunday – today, is World Art Day. Thought I would take some time out to reflect and share ♡

My passion for photography and creative vision was birthed over 15 years ago. I found myself continuously enamoured with the abundant beauty that is found in the every day, and could not resist documenting it.

Photographic Artist Laura Cook In The Field
Photographic Artisti, Laura Cook – the making of “Tranquility”

As a photographic artist, I preserve experiences of creation from my heart, spirit and soul. Consistently I use the camera as my paintbrush enhancing the deeper experience and the emotions felt. Sometimes in true form of preserving what I see, and other times abstracting reality.

new-work-laura-cook-vision-photography

I work close up often depicting human nature in abstract, symbolic ways. I spend significant time working with my subjects, carefully observing and appreciating the beauty, fully experiencing the moment. I examine what it is about the subject that has enticed me. I then pick up my camera and carefully craft the image, ensuring I am creating my unique artistic vision. The deeper meaning is revealed, once the body of work is complete.

trinity_visionphotography_lauracook
“Trinity”

God uses this special gifting teaching me to unplug, slow down, get outside, and appreciate the simpler, finer things in life. Reflect; meditate on the things of God. Listen to my creator – the ultimate creator. Stay connected to His Spirit and witness His Majesty through the process.

SilkySailors_VisionPhotography
“Silky Sailors”

I enjoy creating in a range of styles from realism, minimalism, abstract and impressionism. I value growth and development and continually push the boundaries of my creative expression.

FreedomFlight_LauraCook_VisionPhotography
“Freedom Flight” on exhibition

My photographic art enhances the lives of others not only by providing inspiration and bringing emotion into home and office décor but also gives back . I have created quality custom collections to satisfy the unique image needs of several homeowners, organizations and businesses.

Vision Photography Hope
“Hope” – brings a little light into your home or office decor

I am amazed to look back over the past 14 years and reminisce on how blessed I have been.  My work has been selected for various juried group and solo exhibitions in New York City, Toronto, Oakville, Brantford and Waterloo Region. I am so thankful for these opportunities because it is such an honour and pleasure to share my work. I am also delighted that my work has even won awards and that I have also been a visual arts finalist for a Bernice Adams Memorial Award in my community.  Thank you to all who have supported my journey and the Lord for lighting the path. I can’t even imagine what the year’s ahead hold, I am excited with anticipation!

the-world-lauracook-visionphotography
“The World” Honourable Mention Award Winner; 2013 Cambridge Centre for The Arts Juried Art Exhibition

Want to see the latest creations before others? Be alerted with exciting news & show openings? Have a peek into the behinds the scenes, the making of the images? Soulful insights into the works? Sign up to the Soulful Society 

soulful sign up 4x6

This distinct art leaves a lasting impression. What images do you desire to enhance your space? View www.vision-photography.ca to view more of my work or get in touch for your own personalized collection. Limited commissions are accepted throughout the year.

"Blossom"

One thought on “An Artist’s Reflection: World Art Day

Leave a comment